TalkingMedicare

TalkingMedicare

What I write about


Recent Posts

Who Am I?

This is just for anyone who might be interested in knowing some things about me personally and why I'm doing this.

I am Daniel Nelson, a senior of 69 (very soon to be 70 - thus the birthday card) who has retired and have been looking for a "mental" hobbie rather than the Sudoku

(but not this sudoku)

and jigsaw puzzles which I constantly play to keep me mentally active.

My wife, Jolan, and I live in central Delaware in a beautiful 55+ community. We couldn't take the high costs of living in New York (utilities, taxes - real estate and sales) and wanted to be more centralized between our 2 daughters, Kim and Cynthia, for travelling purposes. One is in Virginia and the other is in New Jersey. Unfortunately our third child, our son Matthew, lives in California - too long a drive!

We also are blessed to have 3 grand-children, Brooke (14), Bennett (5) and Hudson (6 months) - one for each of our children.

My professional background includes the Air Force as an electronic technician (4 years during Vietnam war), 40 years of combined computer programming, operations and management for a couple of manufacturing companies, accounting and being Chief Financial Officer of 2 civil engineering firms and 1 pharmaceutical marketing firm.

Involved in most of those positions was the responsibility of obtaining and managing the companies' medical insurance coverages and supervising all the Human Resources, giving me quite a lot of experience in dealing with people's problems and concerns with health insurance.

I have degrees in Professional Accounting (although I never pursued a CPA certification) and Computer/Business Management. Jolan has her degree as a Teacher. I have also, over the years, taught adult and professional courses in management and computer programming and sciences.

Currently I am licensed and trained to work with all forms of Medicare Insurance policies - in Delaware. I also volunteer to do free tax returns for the public (mostly seniors) through an AARP/IRS Tax-Aide volunteer program.

I'm also a handyman (jack of all trades - master of none) and have done many DIY projects in the 4 homes we have owned including:

  • building furniture,
  • adding rooms,
  • building decks,
  • all kinds of tile projects,
  • electrical,
  • masonary, etc.

Just for fun I also enjoy playing group games including dominoes, canasta, mahjong (?), etc.

I think I'll stop this at this point so I don't bore you completely and keep you from coming back for the real goal - learn something about Medicare.